When creating your own brand, my advice is to keep your brand consistent. For instance, my brand is Kristen Lamb. ~ We Are Not Alone.

002

At some point, each new writer must make a decision about which name is going to appear on the front cover of their books and stories.

These days, once you commit to a name, this becomes synonymous with your brand. Every little digital step we take these days gets linked to and adds incrementally to our brand. This is why we need to choose wisely where our writer’s names are concerned.

We don’t want to have to do the spadework all over again to build a new brand if we have to change name somewhere along the way.

For many years, I couldn’t decide which moniker I was going to use as a writer. Luckily, I was on Facebook, and I stumbled across Kristen Lamb. She had written a book in 2010 on social media for writers, We Are Not Alone, ‘The Writer’s Guide to Social Media.’ This book is no longer available in the original format, as it needed updating. I believe the updated version Rise of the Machines—Human Authors in a Digital World  is available now.

kristen-lamb

It was 2011. I was new to the net. I was simply a full time mother who wrote part time. I was everyone’s poor cousin. Unpublished, at the time, I had neither a blog, nor a newsletter, website, or any of the must-haves for the modern writer. I was just starting out into the jungle of the strange and mysterious world of social media, and the whole thing seemed rather intimidating and scary.

After purchasing a copy of We Are Not Alone, Lamb’s short yet impactful book, I read it in one gulp. I must admit, I went rather “Shelton” and adhered to Lamb’s principles to the letter.

With regards the subject of author names, pen names, and author brand, Lamb advocated thinking in a broad fashion across one’s social media platforms, and seeing for oneself the value in having one name, one brand, across all platforms. ‘Just because Twitter allows you to have multiple identities doesn’t mean it is a good idea, especially if you are unpublished.’

24537059372_7e5f947733_n

This felt like a wise decision and the simplest, to choose a writer’s name that I would use across every social media platform.

I considered the idea of letting go of my surname and using Yvette Carol, my first and middle names. I remembered a conversation I had had about this subject with my grandmother about a decade before. At the time, I had asked Nan for her opinion on which pseudonym I should choose.

Nan said, “While I would love to see the family name on the spine of a book, up on the shelf, I think ‘Yvette Carol’ sounds more like an author.”

I felt the same way. It fitted the criteria in Lamb’s book, and most importantly, it felt like me.

I changed my name by deed poll and committed to it across all genres and all areas of my life. It really felt like taking control. Being bold. And making a statement on the internet, as in, ‘This is my name. This is my claim.’

front cover dragonfly stories - Copy

When it comes to choosing your writer’s name, what criteria can you use?

Make sure the words are punchy and memorable. Usually, you want to test how it sounds by saying it aloud a few times to find out how it flows.

As Lamb said, ‘In order to maximise sales, your goal is to become a brand. Brand=Big Sales.’ You want to think catchy. However, shorter isn’t necessarily better. Just ask Arnold Schwarzenegger! He stayed true to his name.’

Kristen Lamb put it perfectly, when she said, ‘The internet has valuable real estate that you will want to command. How you claim that digital real estate is by using your name.’

041 (2)

Lamb’s second key bit of advice re choosing the name to go by for an author was to consider what product or genre or style they wanted their name to be associated with. Then, you market yourself that way from then on. Hence, the reason my blog and website are titled, Yvette Carol, Children’s Writer.

Thank you, Kristen for the great advice!

*

In a nutshell, your writer’s name is designed to be pithy and memorable

It’s designed to reflect you and your brand.

It’s designed to be flexible, so you can ‘be consistent across all platforms’

It’s designed to be classic, to last forever.

*

How did you find your writer’s name or do you use your given birth name?

026 (5)

Talk to you later.

Keep on Creating!

Yvette K. Carol

+

Now here, you see, it takes all the running you can do, to keep in the same place. If you want to get somewhere else, you must run at least twice as fast as that. ~ Lewis Carroll

+

Subscribe to my Newsletter by emailing me with “Newsletter Subscription” in the subject line to: yvettecarol@hotmail.com

 

Comments
  1. I read Rise of the Machines in one gulp too, and I keep going back to it. It’s really interesting to see how you applied the advice in there too. I sometimes worry that the name I’ve chosen is too long, so it was encouraging to hear you say that the one you chose ‘felt like you’. That was one of the factors that made me go with mine.

    Liked by 1 person

    • yvettecarol says:

      Yay! A fellow fan. Pleased to meet you, Deborah.
      I think Kristen is fantastic.

      I think this sort of thing is instinctual, too. When it comes to choosing our name, gut instinct will tell us, every time! Good job. I like your name, by the way 🙂

      Like

  2. Honestly, I never even thought about the name aspect of my writing career. 😄Given how many odd sounding names there are out there on book spines (I still don’t know how to pronounce “Sciezka”), I haven’t bothered worrying about it. But I’m glad you found one that works for you!

    Liked by 1 person

    • yvettecarol says:

      “Writer’s names” came up in Kristen’s book, and there was so much more to it than I’d thought. She gave the sage example of having built her first blog for years under the moniker, TexasChick, or similar, and then she realized that the numbers of followers weren’t going to translate to sales because she didn’t want to use the name Texas Chick on her books. She had to choose the writer’s name she was going to use, and start the blog over – in the process losing most of her followers.
      I see people do this again and again. You see young writers with their blog under some fanciful concoction, their Facebook is under a different name, and Pinterest has something else again. There’s no connection with them and their eventual books. Therefore, they may be putting out a lot of content, but they’re not building their brand. It’s such a shame to see time and effort wasted.

      I should’ve known you had it sorted from the beginning, Tee. And, why wouldn’t you use your name, it’s beautiful! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Bun Karyudo says:

    This was an interesting theme, Yvette. I think Yvette Carol works very well as an author’s name. You asked how we found our pen names. Funnily enough I just used the same method and removed my family name. Who’d want to be published as Bun Karyudo Shufflebottom?

    Liked by 1 person

    • yvettecarol says:

      LOL! Bun, congratulations, you got a real LOL out of me, and I even had to share your comment with family who are sitting around the table with me at the moment, and we all laughed out loud. Hilarious! So glad you dropped the “Shufflebottom!” *snicker*

      Liked by 1 person

  4. yvettecarol says:

    So do I!
    It’s so silly. When I read your comment I sniggered like a five-year-old. It made me think of when I was looking up someone’s number in the paper phone book recently, and I saw the name ‘Kingsbottom,’ I felt really sorry for them, and I also had to laugh! 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

