~ The Peaceful Warrior takes the High Road ~

Posted: November 24, 2016 in "peaceful warrior", "the high road", heart, Henry David Thoreau, honesty, integrity, Kindness, love, Mindfulness, morality, Truth
Tags: ,

028-7

Things do not change; we change. ~ Henry David Thoreau

Quantum theory has proven what metaphysicians like Thoreau were trying to say, that when we change our thinking and our views, then our experience shifts.

In light of one of the most divisive U.S. elections in history, a lot of people are feeling upset and/or unsettled. The ripples carry on spreading throughout the rest of the world. Even at our Toastmasters meeting this week, one of the speeches given was about the presidential election.

Our challenge is to take the “high road.”

A teacher of the Hawaiian Kahuna Arts, Erin Kawaihululani Kropidlowski, relates “the high road” to ‘honesty, morality and integrity.’

Despite the confrontations and soap-boxing going on at present, in my belief, the most vital action we can take is to stop looking beyond ourselves and getting caught up in the maelstrom of fear.

After imbibing yet more inflammatory social media today, the term peaceful warrior came to me. I thought, the peaceful warrior takes the high road. I want to be one.

008 (10)

It is up to each warrior to realize, as Thoreau posited, that we are the ones who need to change. It starts with us. Within our own circles, our families, our friends, our neighbours, people we meet. We must do everything we can to spread the love. That might mean changing our attitudes or approach, or surrendering a little of our fear. Yet, as peaceful warriors, as flowers in the garden of life, it is up to us to show our sunny side up.

This does not mean turn a blind eye. No.

We are even more keenly aware and watchful of those in power than ever before. We hold them to the line. We monitor what is happening. We say something and shine a light on injustice and corruption when it needs to be done. However, we don’t get drawn into hate or fear ourselves.

We always remember love, and we are all of us in need of kindness. We do little things to spread goodwill. We do good deeds. We give of our hearts and minds to those around of us; we give what we have to share.

016

As the wonderful, world-renowned yogi and teacher, Gurudev Hamsah Nandatha, said, ‘Your role is to gently encourage everyone.’

My grandmother, the well-known head of the Women’s Voluntary Service in England lived by a motto, a small two word verse from the bible, ‘Be kind.’

Yes, indeed, this is a time of chaos. Yet, as Erin says, ‘when everything is in flux, you’re in the time of greatest creativity.’

Remember, things do not change, we change. The most profound action we can take right now is to refuse to take into our cherished souls the darkness we sometimes see. Are we going to be infected with the virus of negativity going on at present? Do we want to make that thing our new reality? Are we going to then add to that insanity by feeding it with more arguments?

No.

We rise above it.

022

We remember we are peaceful warriors and the only way forward is to recognize the heart in others. All others. We stay true to who we know we are inside. We stay true to the better future we choose to know lies ahead.

*The signs of a peaceful warrior:

We choose to take the high road.

We change along the lines of the change we wish to see in the world.

We watch those who are in positions of power and hold them accountable.

We are kind.

We remember to gently encourage everyone.

This is the path to having what my grandmother would call, ‘having the right thoughts,’ and what Gurudev would call ‘thinking which is for the benefit of all sentient beings.’ Yes. I’m in! Who’s with me?

039

Talk to you later.

Keep on Creating!

Yvette K. Carol

+

‘There are two things the world cannot destroy, the love you cultivate and the highest expression of yourself that you insist on being. Every single person in your field are characters, there for the opportunity for you to love, and to walk the high road.’ ~ Erin Kawaihululani Kropidlowski

+

 

Subscribe to my Newsletter by emailing me with “Newsletter Subscription” in the subject line to: yvettecarol@hotmail.com

 

Comments
  1. Great thoughts, Yvette!

    Liked by 1 person

    • yvettecarol says:

      Thanks, Catherine. I surprised myself because I hadn’t intended writing my blog post this morning. But, for some reason, when I made my first cup of tea and sat at the computer, instead of going straight to emails and Facebook, I opened a new document and started typing. It’s an amalgam of teachings I’ve imbibed in recent years, combined with all the thoughts which have gone through my consciousness in these recent times. A voice seemed to want expression, so I just went with it. I don’t usually go into detail on social media with regards my core beliefs and ideals. However, sometimes, I do believe in letting ourselves express what we feel needs to be said. Now, I can go back into my cave and carry on with my writing fiction. Yay! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I love this. I think you are a wise and noble woman, Yvette. You describe perfectly how we can overcome any obstacle. Bravo!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. emaginette says:

    After reading some of the things that are going on, I’m afraid to comment. My fingers are crossed and so far we’ve kept the Canadian-US border open. ‘Nough said I’m sure.

    Anna from elements of emaginette

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Pinar Tarhan says:

    Being kind is the only way. I can’t stand rudeness, bigotry or meanness. Even if it is just saying good morning to a stranger you see on the elevator, thanking to your barista or staying away from trolls on the internet. Sure, you can make bigger, kinder contributions if you have the means. But small acts of positivity go a long way. I can’t be mean to someone who hasn’t been mean to me. If they have, I run if I can. You can never really win by fighting idiots. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • yvettecarol says:

      Yes. Awesome! That’s the way to make a difference, girl! The big acts are for those few who can. The small acts can be done by every single one of us. Your words remind me of something my dear gran used to say, “Share a smile, it’s free.” 🙂
      We’re similar in our approach, Pinar. I regaled folks with a story last year about a mean thing another girl did to me, to shame me in front of the whole school when we were in college. One of my mates responded she would have needed to exact revenge. I said, yeah, I did get my revenge; this girl and I became best friends and have been friends ever since! ha ha

      Like

  5. pjreece says:

    Well said, Yvette. I’m wondering… is there a difference between the Peaceful Warrior and the Warrior Monk? The latter suggests a more proactive attitude. Sometimes I think writers need to get forceful while on their high road. Don’t know, just thinking out loud. Buenas noches.

    Liked by 1 person

    • yvettecarol says:

      What a great thought, that ‘writers need to sometimes get forceful while on their high road.’ Force is not incompatible with peace in my mind. 🙂

      Here’s my take on it, PJ, there’s no difference at all between the Peaceful Warrior and the Warrior Monk. The Shaolin lived the lives of monks, and yet, if they hadn’t learned to defend themselves, they and all their treasures would have been lost to history. They became the most prized fighters in the land, and were called upon to help win wars. The Peaceful Warrior needs the same discipline (in whatever form they choose it, mine is Ka’alele Au) and intensity of inward focus in their lives. In a confrontation of any kind, the monk and warrior start with drawing breath deeply, by coming to “zero” within themselves, and then they move with nature and spirit, not against it. They move only to defend when necessary, never to attack or “offend.” The monk and the warrior recognize the Divine in the other – that every living thing is given life from the same source – they therefore start with a different understanding, they start from a place of love and respect for all sentient beings. From that place, they have the power/force of the entire Universe available to course through them, and can therefore, sometimes perform what have been called “miracles,” physical movements that are beyond human comprehension.

      See the force I employed there? Carry on thinking out loud, my friend. I am honoured you stopped by and did some thinking aloud here at my place. Come back any time, PJ. Mwah!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

