#SelfieArt Day7

Posted: September 25, 2016 in #SelfieArt, art, Catherine Johnson, Selfie Art Day!, Social media, Teresa Robeson, Truth
Tags: , ,

teresa-robesonimg_0046

After rashly deciding to join in with writing pals, Teresa Robeson http://teresarobeson.wordpress.com/ and Catherine Johnson http://www.catherinejohnson.com/ on the SelfieArt Day challenge seven months ago, I now find myself part of a regular artistic quest to capture one’s own features. An elusive, multi-fold quest.

022

For September’s SelfieArt, I used the photograph taken yesterday of my sister and myself, at my nephew’s 21st party.

001

I started with a faint pencil outline of my face.

I know – yawn! I admit it. I got started on the SelfieArt challenge, imagining I’d be stomping about in a different medium each month, going buck wild in there. But, something tells me I’m a bit more staid these days than my imagination likes to think I am. I see myself, in my mind’s eye, as a Poppy-Longstockings-Pocahontas, whereas in reality, I’m a mature stay-at-home mama with a slight touch of OCD.

I find myself drawing my SelfieArt each month in plain old HB pencil. Nothing less, nothing more, and going, “That’ll do.” Oh, the complacency of age!

You can see how the challenge of the SelfieArt challenge is multi-fold, because the process continues to be self-revelatory.

003

005

009

#SelfieArt for September

Done, baby!

Keep on Creating!

Yvette K. Carol

+

‘Art is essential to life, it feeds the eyes with the aspirations of life.’ ~ David Prosser

+

Subscribe to my Newsletter by emailing me with “Newsletter Subscription” in the subject line to: yvettecarol@hotmail.com

 

 

 

Comments
  1. davidprosser says:

    I didn’t realise you’re such an accomplished artist Yvette. Thanks so much for including my quote.
    xxx Gigantic Hugs xxx

    Liked by 2 people

    • yvettecarol says:

      Gosh, that’s very kind of you, David. I potter! I was hoping you’d see the quote. I have a “great quotes” file in which I keep every great piece I come across and you see, how perfectly they come into use :-))) Hugs

      Liked by 1 person

  2. It’s such a great likeness and the hair zings! Good one! I love the idea of Poppy Long Stockings Pocahontas.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. That is a fab drawing! I need to get off the computer and go draw mine so I can feature you. 🙂 x

    Liked by 2 people

  4. […] Here is Yvette’s post: https://yvettecarol.wordpress.com/2016/09/25/selfieart-day7/ […]

    Liked by 1 person

  5. You are so talented! I wish I could draw.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. These are so beautiful!

    Like

Leave a Reply

