The thing about writing humour is that everyone has a different sense of humour.

I remember having a conversation about this with a friend. She said, their family had invited the son’s new girlfriend over, to join them for dinner. After the meal, they thought they’d watch their favourite show, with the idea that laughing would bring them all together. So they put on a comedy which they knew was side-splitting, ‘Little Britain.’ My friend said that she, her husband and sons were rolling off the couch, nearly crying with laughter, while the son’s girlfriend never cracked a smile throughout the whole show.

Humour is personal and deadly serious.

164

I promised readers I’d share my journey towards the holy grail of engaging the funny bone. Let’s say, it’s been an interesting process, so far.

In my last post, there was a great moaning, wailing and gnashing of teeth about having to write the material for my humorous speech.

I got some helpful pointers from a number of responders. With regards my first idea for material, which had been my mother and her dementia, a friend on social media – the wonderfully gregarious Lord David Prosser  – countered with a great comment.

David Prosser

‘If you get the chance to read the Deric Longden story Lost for Words or get the chance to see the TV film that was made starring Dame Thora Hird you’ll see that the subject of dementia can be dealt with i a funny, charming yet sympathetic way. Because we see the humour in a situation doesn’t make us uncaring towards people suffering that illness, it just means the particular situation was funny.’ ~ David Prosser

Thanks, David.

However, for the upcoming Speech Contest, I decided to go with the same topic I covered last year, something I know intimately – being a parent. Since then, after many anxious, feeble attempts at writing it, and wringing of hands, I began to despair I’d ever be able to write anything good ever again!

Bun Karyudo

I watched footage of award-winning humorous speaker, Jeanne Robertson http://www.jeannerobertson.com (thanks for the link, Jenny), and read a post or two by my friends who write funny blogs, like the self-confessed undie chronicler, Jenny Hansen, https://jennyhansenauthor.wordpress.com/ and sweet blogger, Bun Karyudo, whose excellent “Lovingly Hand-Crafted Humor Blog” is always good for a chuckle.

I thought Bun’s recent post, Teaching My Son to Swim? It’s Just Not Going to Happen https://bunkaryudo.wordpress.com/2016/08/13/teaching-my-son-to-swim-its-just-not-going-to-happen/ was hilarious.

Here’s an excerpt, where his wife is convincing a reluctant Bun why he ought to teach their son to swim:

“When someone makes a promise, isn’t it only right to keep it.”

When someone made a promise, I nodded, it was only right to keep it.

“Right then,” she said, “I promised our son you’d teach him to swim. How can you possibly refuse?”

Bun, however, has a natural gift for turn of comedic phrase. I don’t!

Still stumped, I gazed upon these people’s brilliance and felt unable to produce anything of credibly feather-tickling value myself.

I’ve been having the same conversation everywhere I’ve gone, what makes comedy?

This week, a friend asked me, ‘Look at this way, what makes you laugh?’

IMG_1633

Terrific question. I can tell you, one-liners leave me cold; I prefer it when there’s a storyline, and the humour comes through what happens.

A light went on! I realized that my earlier attempts had failed, because each was basically a series of one-liners strung together.

Yesterday, my two youngest sons left to spend the weekend with their father. Last night, I relaxed and listened to some music, as you do. I was thinking about how different childhood is for kids these days, compared to say, when I was young, or say my parents, or their parents before them.

A few words wafted by me on the wind. If you consider that my grandmother was born in 1901. She lived in the “pre-nuclear age…” I thought, Gran had perfect recall, while I have trouble remembering something from one room of the house to the other… that’s a funny idea! Lucky for me, I was fleet of foot and captured the words before they flew on by.

I had the start to my speech.

The concept of comparing childhoods in our family, from my gran through to my youngest son, gave me the all-important narrative I needed. The rest flowed from there.

002 (14)

Here’s an example of the content as it stands so far: ‘They say there are more crazy people on the streets these days than ever before, we parents get warnings to keep an eye on our children’s whereabouts at all times. I know my children’s whereabouts – couch one and couch two in our living room, where they can get the wifi.’

Therefore, the raw material for my humorous speech has finally been produced. A labour of love, no less.

Now, I just need to figure out how to deliver the speech to achieve maximum impact. Wish me luck! Any tips for comedic timing/inflection that works,  please let me know! There’s a chocolate fish in it for you (nah, just kidding).

#WhySoManyRules

Talk to you later.

Keep on Creating!

Yvette K. Carol

+

 

It is impossible to look cool while picking up a Frisbee. ~ Peter Kay

+

Subscribe to my Newsletter by emailing me with “Newsletter Subscription” in the subject line to: yvettecarol@hotmail.com

Comments
  1. Good luck, dear! You’ll be great as usual!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I love Peter Kay. I think your subject is strong enough to have lots of depth. Great choice. Itcould be quite funny imagining our kids time travelling to no wifi era.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. lynnkelleyauthor says:

    Hahaha! You’ve got the makings of a great speech there, Yvette. I love that pic of you with the mustache. I have FINALLY finished my class and now just have to wait for the major assignments to be graded and then receive my certification. Such a huge relief to have made it through the course. I was so happy and carefree at the TM meeting the other night, so when they announced the humorist speech contest is in September and we’ve having our club contest next week and need members to participate, everyone looked at me, and idiot that I am, I said okay.

    I ran my “idea” past George and my daughter the next day and even as I was talking about it, I realized it wasn’t funny at all. And then, oh dang, what have I gotten myself into? I’m supposed to be taking it easy and recovering from mental and physical exhaustion. Sheesh! Well, I started on a speech yesterday. Mine, too, is about parenting! Mine, too, is “based on a true story.” I’m getting smart and figuring out how to exaggerate, change it up, add some pizzazz. Aha, this might work after all. I’m raising my glass to my fellow funny Toastmaster. Cheers!

    Liked by 1 person

    • yvettecarol says:

      Yes! Perfect choice. It’s where the juiciest stories are, and loads of folks relate, because even if you haven’t been a parent, you’ve been the child. Yay! This is the best news all day, Lynnie. A fellow crazy Toaster who shouldn’t have put her hand up but did. Thank goodness, I’m not alone! Bless your cotton socks 🙂

      A member from my club said, she would never have put up her hand if she hadn’t already had a recent funny event in mind. Well, I had put my hand up with absolutely no clue what I was going to speak about. So, I’ve really been nerve-rattled as the days have gone past and nothing worth using came to me – until last night – as I wrote in the post. Whew, talk about “saved by the bell!”

      Great, we can cheer one another on, too! You can do it, Lynn. A tip a senior member gave in her speech this week, was to visualize yourself succeeding with your speech a number of times beforehand. I’m going to do that for sure. Let me know how you go 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    • yvettecarol says:

      Congratulations on getting through your course!! *woot! woot!* That’s absolutely stellar, girlfriend. I’m proud of you. What an effort! Well done 🙂 xxx

      Liked by 1 person

  4. davidprosser says:

    Thanks so much for the mention and for linking the words ‘Great Comment’ to my name. That gives me an awful lot to live up to now.
    It’s well known that humour trikes different people different ways. For years people thought I had no sense of humour at all (yet I keep a mirror in the house) because like the girlfriend I don’t laugh out loud. That does not infer I haven’t appreciated the joke. Like you though some humour does leave me cold. We went through a period in the UK of young comedians who were very political and used a lot of one liners. They threw words out like weapons, sharp and nasty. Not for me. Yet you mention Peter Kay who I think is a really funny man with his situational comedy. Everyday normal events that he slowly builds up into something you can actually see in your head.

    One of my favourite comedians was from years ago and has been much mimicked over the years. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iQZm3mlaowM He relies on your imagination to fill in the gaps and believe me, anyone from most of the UK would recognise someone like this years ago with all the back to back terraced houses. But humour happens in so many every day situations that nearly everyone will recognise situational humour.

    I’m sure your speech will be a huge hit Yvette because you recognise the funny in what you see around you and have a way of sharing it that lets your audience see the same incident. I wish you the very Best of Luck and a whole lot of fun.
    xxx Massive Hugs xxx

    Liked by 1 person

    • yvettecarol says:

      Thank you so much for the encouragement, David. Right now, the idea of getting up on stage and trying to make people laugh seems ludicrous. However, this is the challenge, is to take yourself out of the equation, and ‘make it about the performance.’ I’m still learning how to let go into that one! Thanks for the link, I’ll check it out, soon.
      Wishing you a fantastic day. ((hugs)) 🙂

      Like

  5. Humor is tough for a speaker. I’ve been a professional speaker for 8 years, but I’m not a funny speaker. I won’t have anyone rolling. But I will get some laughs and smiles from the casual things I blurt out – and I’ve learned to memorize those moments for the next time I give that talk.

    Good luck with the talk!

    Like

    • yvettecarol says:

      Hi, I noticed on your blog page that you were a speaker. How did you get started on that? You don’t see it as a listed skill too often, so well done. When you say the ‘casual things you’ve blurted’ I can relate, as most often it’s the unexpected, spontaneous moments in a speech that get people laughing. In the past, I’ve found it hard to deliberately manufacture those moments, though. Thanks for the ‘good luck,’ where humour is concerned, it’s so tricky. I guess that’s why we revere the really good comedians, because it’s a level of expertise most of us lack! 🙂

      Like

  6. emaginette says:

    No doubt you’ll have them laughing. 🙂

    Anna from elements of emaginette

    Liked by 1 person

  7. […] competing against myself. So, I poured weeks into figuring out how to write humor, Funny, Me? And Funny, Me! And, I didn’t just pay lip service, I utilised all the advice given. I followed every lead. I […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

