After rashly deciding to join in with writing pals, Teresa Robeson, and Catherine Johnson, on the Selfie Art Day challenge five months ago, I now find myself part of a regular artistic quest to capture one’s own features. An elusive, multi-fold quest.

After a few experimental shots at different kinds of selfie art portrait with the last few posts, I decided to take a leaf out of Teresa Robeson’s book this time, and pare it back to minimal lines done in pencil.

This whole portrait was done with an HB pencil.

003

I like to snatch the main outlines first. I find I always underestimate how big my hair is and make it too close to the head. But, nevertheless, I’m happy if the placement of the facial features and general shapes seem to be in the right places.

004

Next, I like to make all the main lines more firm and distinct, so I don’t lose them.

006

I’ve messed up the eyes a number of times, and I usually leave them till last. This portrait, I decided to do the eyes first, figuring perhaps I’d be fresher. More able to get the lines right. And to me it’s a definite improvement.

008

Here’s my Selfie Art portrait, number five. What do you think?

If you decide to join in on the challenge, make sure you swing by Teresa Robeson’s wordpress blog and tell her about it. She’ll include your links on her regularly updated list. Include the hashtag on your post: #SelfieDay. Have fun!

013

Keep on Creating!

Yvette K. Carol

+

Beauty, to me, is about being comfortable in your own skin. That or a kick-arse red lipstick. ~ Gwyneth Paltrow

+

Subscribe to my Newsletter by emailing me with “Newsletter Subscription” in the subject line to: yvettecarol@hotmail.com

 

Comments
  1. James Pailly says:

    Very nice! When I do portraits, I usual do the eyes first. I feel like eyes can express a lot of emotion, and once you get them the rest sort falls into place.

    Liked by 1 person

    • yvettecarol says:

      Thanks, James! I’ll continue with this idea then, of doing the eyes first. I agree with what you’ve said. I found with the last four efforts, that I would sketch the eyes in. They’d look okay. But, as soon as I started to work on them, I’d always flub the right eye so then I’d overdo it. Paper is only forgiving to a certain degree. The eye, being so small, would not stand a lot reworking, so it ended up being a bit blurry every time. Even if, the features are all slightly ‘off,’ at least this time the eyes are clear and not blurred! Victory dance 🙂

      Like

  2. It’s always SO nice to see the process that goes into creating artwork. I can’t even draw a straight line! You have quite a talent.

    Stephanie
    http://stephie5741.blogspot.com

    Liked by 1 person

    • yvettecarol says:

      Thanks, Stephanie! I show the steps to the finished product each month. I agree, I find it fascinating, too.
      I started out as a writer/illustrator actually. However, I gave away illustrating my own picture books about 11 years ago. Since then, I’ve concentrated on mastering the art of writing fiction for older readers – a process I expect to be on-going for the rest of my days. 🙂
      p.s. Don’t worry if you can’t draw, your writing is your big talent!

      Like

Leave a Reply

