#SelfieArt Day4

Posted: June 25, 2016 in art, drawing, Selfie Art Day!
Tags: ,

Oh, SelfieArt Day, how you taunt me! You sound so simple, and yet, you are not. You say, come and play, and then, you turn into hard slog. It is hard to draw yourself!!!

But, in the interests of not-giving-up-ingness, I will continue to try.

009

This time, I went for the sepia look, in charcoal. I used Derwent pencils for the initial outline.

010

I used Mont Marte “Coloured CHARCOAL” pencils in Burnt Sienna.

015

Sanguine. And Sepia charcoal.

016

So you don’t look exactly like me, who cares?

018

To add drama, and draw the eye away from silly little things like resemblance, I painted the background in black.

021

Then, I added a thin line of copper metallic paint around the border. There’s still no getting away from the niggly lack of resemblance thing. Stupid SelfieDay! Never mind. I may not have won the race, but at least I competed, right?

If you decide to join in on the challenge, make sure you swing by Teresa Robeson’s wordpress blog and tell her about it. She’ll include your links on her regularly updated list. Include the hashtags on your post: #SelfieDay and #Doodlewash Day! Have fun.

025

Talk to you later.

Keep on Creating!

Yvette K. Carol

+

Faces can lie, but not necks. – Henry Cecil

+

Subscribe to my Newsletter by emailing me with “Newsletter Subscription” in the subject line to: yvettecarol@hotmail.com

 

Comments
  1. You really go all out for selfie day, Yvette. That is awesome!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hooray! Thanks for joining in! I keep saying I would show steps like you do but I always rush through mine and never remember to take pictures in between. Don’t worry, my selfie didn’t look like me either. 😄

    Liked by 1 person

    • yvettecarol says:

      It didn’t perfectly look like you, however, I really liked your post for June’s selfieart. It was as pure as a poem. 🙂
      Actually, I had prepared this post a few days ago, planning on this being my post for the week. Then, the speech-giving on Wednesday demanded commentary, so I ended up writing that post on Friday. The anniversary of Ma’s death knocked me sideways yesterday, so that required a tribute post.
      This morning, your post reminded me about SelfieArt day. So, I ended up putting out three posts, three days in a row!
      Sheesh!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Bun Karyudo says:

    You made a very good job of your picture. I’ve never tried a selfie portrait for my blog, but in my case it would be easier since it’s basically a rectangle with two eyes and a mouth.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. […] Kerfe, who did another one of her fabulous “after Man Ray” pieces: https://methodtwomadness.wordpress.com/2016/06/25/self-portrait-15-one-more-for-man-ray/ and Yvette, who is always good about giving us a play-by-play of her process: https://yvettecarol.wordpress.com/2016/06/25/selfieart-day4/ […]

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

