Teresa Robeson

After rashly deciding to join in with writing pals, Teresa Robeson, and Catherine Johnson, on the Selfie Art Day challenge a few months ago, I now find myself part of a regular artistic quest to capture one’s own features. An elusive, multi-fold quest.

So far, my attempts at Selfie Art have stimulated all sorts of self-discovery. I’ve felt confronted by my own sense of self image, and self worth. The process has also brought me up against my own need to control things, a.k.a. perfectionism.

The first month I participated, I blogged an in-depth pencil sketch. I didn’t like it.

Selfie Art Day

The second time, I submitted a pencil outline of my face. I didn’t like it.

selfieart

My attempt at a self-portrait for May’s #SelfieArt Day is in triumphant #doodlewash for the first time! That’s the good news.

The bad news is that it doesn’t look a bit like me.

Except maybe for the hair. I did notice I hadn’t quite captured my likeness when I started, however, I assumed it’d come right in the end. Only it didn’t! It was too late to go back; I’d already committed the time slot allowed. Here again, I met face-to-face with my perfectionist streak which made me just want to toss the portrait in the bin.

Thankfully, I did not throw my portrait away. I made myself stick with it.

I decided to like it anyway.

017

I had to say to myself in no uncertain terms, “It may not be perfect but I accept this portrait.”

This then became a sort of personal mantra, “I accept my imperfections.”

With that in mind, I decided to carry on and finish my “imperfect” portrait as it was, and see it through to the end. Thus, the transformative process of Selfie Art unerringly continued.

These are the pics I took documenting my progress:

I began with a pencil outline of my face.

020

I added the first layer of flesh-tinted wash.

021

Then I darkened the lines with an ink pen.

034

I added shading to the face with warm flesh tones, and a wash for the shirt with Rose Pink gouache paint.

037

I used black watercolour for the hair.

While my resulting portrait does not look like me, it does look like a gal who might be fairly interesting!

041

If you decide to join in on the challenge, make sure you swing by Teresa Robeson’s wordpress blog and tell her about it. She’ll include your links on her regularly updated list.

Include the hashtags on your post: #SelfieDay and #Doodleawash Day! Have fun.

050

Talk to you later.

Keep on Creating!

Yvette K. Carol

+

If your world doesn’t allow you to dream, move to one where you can. ~ Billy Idol

+

Subscribe to my Newsletter by emailing me with “Newsletter Subscription” in the subject line to: yvettecarol@hotmail.com

 

Comments
  1. Excellent Yvette – like most things, practice make perfect 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  2. It’s amazing, Yvette like from a magazine and you rock at hair. There is a likeness I can it’s you.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. emaginette says:

    Looks like a lot of hard work, and I’m glad you’re happy with your results. 🙂

    Anna from elements of emaginette

    Liked by 1 person

    • yvettecarol says:

      Thanks, Anna! Art used to take me a lot longer than it does these days. Even a few years ago, it would have taken me a whole day to do a portrait like this. This picture took me two hours. Some things improve with age! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I’m so glad you remembered #selfieart day and actually did a piece for it! If turned off my comments on my blog so will need to turn it back on, I suppose, if anyone else had done one and wanted to let me know. I’m falling so far behind I’m afraid I’ll never catch up again.

    Brava on your first #doodlewash piece! It looks great even if you think it doesn’t look like you. 😊

    Liked by 1 person

    • yvettecarol says:

      Hey, Tee! There you are. 🙂 I kept going back to your blog and checking for your post, but, in the end, I decided to post my art. Since Catherine had already posted hers, I thought I could get away with it! 🙂 Thanks for stopping by especially when you’re so snowed under!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. lynnkelleyauthor says:

    Very cool, Yvette! You did a great job. My favorite is the pencil outline. Not sure why you don’t like it, but I think it’s worthy of framing and hanging up. Really, really neat!

    Liked by 1 person

    • yvettecarol says:

      Thanks for stopping by, Lynnie! Do you like the outline portrait best? I guess I judge it because it doesn’t seem symmetrical somehow. For instance, one of my favourite self portraits is also in outline, but it’s all equal lines in balance. I drew it in my early twenties. I’ve shared it here before but I will share it again in another post so you can see what I mean. To my eye, the drawing you’re talking about is a tad lopsided.
      And yet, it’s in the very fact that this makes me uncomfortable, is what I mean about how illuminative and transformative this process can be – it really shows you things about yourself – and where you hold judgment of yourself.
      The aim in my life is to become ever kinder and gentler with self, so this is a healthy process. Because I go, okay, I don’t see that same quality, I’d better look at this. Cool, huh? 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

