What goes on in a household of boys?

Posted: May 20, 2016 in "Blunt Moms", FAMILY, Friends, Indie Authors, Jenny Hansen, memories, Mother, parenting, perseverance, Raising boys, Truth
Tags: ,

Friend, writer, Jenny Hansen, put me on to a great new blog site this week, ‘Blunt Moms,’ written by a happy collective of mommas telling it like it is.

The first post I read was by author, Anne Sawan, ‘Moms of boys, you are my people.’ Of course, this got my attention as I’m a mother to three sons. The post was so hilarious I nearly split my jeans laughing. I subscribed the same day.

150-logo

Anne Sawan wrote of discovering her boys running around on their icy roof in winter, ‘inches away from slipping off and cracking their skulls,’ and how, that night, she had to have ‘a large glass of red wine’ in order to get over the experience.

004

I laughed in the grip of my own painful memories. My three sons have made my hair go gray which is why I have to dye it now.

I remember one time, when Sam was three and escaped the property. He took off in his plastic car down the middle of our street. He lifted his feet and whizzed down the hill, with me running behind shouting, “Stop! Stop, Sam!”

He shot out of the street, turning a corner into another road, still freewheeling. I braced myself for hearing a screech of brakes, which fortunately never came. I managed to catch up with Sam and yank him off the road before he met any traffic. His guardian angels must take home plenty of overtime, that night. In fact, all my boys have given their angels a run for their money.

Picture 175

‘Boys are just a different breed from girls,’ wrote Sawan. I couldn’t agree more.

My sister’s darling daughter used to present herself to her mother each evening at six o’clock exactly, and say, “I’m ready for bed, mama.” How I envied my sister! My boys would still be strangling each other somewhere, with someone moments away from an elbow in the eye, or getting somehow mortally injured and roaring with pain. Or they’d be trying the old, I-can’t-hear-you routine. Oh, yes, boys are different, all right.

What goes on in a household of boys?

boys & Phil0002

A lot of yelling goes on in this household of boys.

Picture 012

A lot of dressing up.

001 (2)

Play-fighting.

030

Birthday parties that would put adult all-night-ragers to shame.

002 (14)

Hours spent playing digital games.

Picture 346

More play-fighting.

facepaint0002

Suspicious silences.

writing2

Wild air guitar-playing while only dressed in underwear.

P1130475

Yet more play-fighting.

Picture 196

And of course, posturing.

008 (10)

Did I mention the singing? They sing a lot as well.

Once you learn to roll with the rambunctious, noisy, chaos of living with sons, I am here to report; it is possible to live harmoniously with them.

Besides in the words of Anne Sawan, in the end, “we laugh knowing our boys are going to be marrying your girls, and one day, if they’re lucky, they may just have little boys of their own.”

That’s called karma, folks!

Do you have any stories of the differences between raising your sons and daughters, or any hair-raising parenting tales to share?

039

Talk to you later,

Keep on Creating!

Yvette K. Carol

+

‘Raising children is one of the most significant things that a person can do. It matters a tremendous amount, and women who choose to do it should be held in high esteem. In the late 19th and early 20th centuries, it was a token of great respect for a man to address an older woman as “mother.” That might be a good thing to bring back.’ ~ Paul Rosenberg

 

+

Subscribe to my Newsletter by emailing me with “Newsletter Subscription” in the subject line to: yvettecarol@hotmail.com

 

Comments
  1. Wonderful pics! You sure have your hands full, Yvette. My daughter does all that too so she must be a tom boy and she hates wearing dresses. The dog has had more crazy things happen that the kids. Is that weird?;)

    Liked by 1 person

    • yvettecarol says:

      Ha ha. You should write some poems from Sandy’s pov sometime, Catherine! Or blog about Sandy’s mishaps! I’m discovering through Toastmasters, that it’s the mistakes we make and the painful experiences along the way, that make the most interesting content! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • I know but most of my stories can’t be told.

        Liked by 1 person

      • yvettecarol says:

        LOL!
        The mind boggles 😀
        Writing this post actually made me realize I might have material for comedy. Thing is, I’m nearing the end of the first manual in Toastmasters, and you can choose from a wide selection of topics for the next manual to tackle. One of them is called, “Humorously Speaking” and I wasn’t going to try that one as I don’t think of myself as being funny. The manual I can’t wait to start is “Storytelling,” of course! However, I just might attempt the Humour after that.
        The thing about the subject of hilarious family stories is that you could take it any way, not just what your kids are putting you through but how much grief you put your own parents through, or you could talk about the differences between your childhoods and that of your children. The possibilities are endless!
        🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  2. emaginette says:

    When I think raising boys, I always think of Malcolm in the Middle. This TV show cracked me up with all the crazy stunts.

    Anna from elements of emaginette

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I will say this, I can and do agree with everything you’ve said about boys. I have five of my own and I totally get it. My boys are wild and crazy and daring and have absolutely No Fear! However, I also have girls, 3 actually, and my middle girl, she’s 3, is a tom-boy. She will get out there and wrestle with the best of them. My husband and joke among ourselves how if others kids are picking on any of ours, ours will say, ‘you better knock it off or we’re gonna get our sister.’ She has not fear either and she’s a tough one. We live in a small town and if you go through the alley my mom and dad live there. She always sneaks off over there and as soon as she shows up at my mom’s, my mom calls me. It’s crazy what these kids come up with.

    Like

    • yvettecarol says:

      Wow, you have been blessed with a large family. How lovely! Funnily enough, I was a tom-boy, too. That’s so funny that your kids threaten the other kids with bringing out their sister. She must be pretty formidable. I love it!

      Like

Leave a Reply

