If you do a lot of things, you screw up a lot of things. You have to give yourself permission to totally humiliate yourself repeatedly. If you can do that, then happiness results. ~ James Altucher

poster

September 19: I launched my first book

September 20: I learned there were multiple errors in the copy

September 21: I started proof-reading the copy

November 7: Blurry-eyed, I was proof-reading the copy for the third time. I wasn’t seeing the words anymore.

I had reached burn out

*

I really want to get this project finished. I am overdue sending my “two copies” to the National Library, I need the corrected versions uploaded to Amazon. I owe folks everywhere new copies of the book after I asked them to trash the first ones. The whole situation is a mess. However, this week, after striving for months to edit my book to publishable standard myself, I had to admit defeat. I realized if I continued on my own I could take a few more months over the project.

010

I realized I could no longer keep trying to do the final proof read myself. As I had already paid a proof-reader to do it once, I had felt this inner resistance to the idea of having to hire another. Costly business this Indie thing, let me tell you.

Nevertheless, I quit, and I handed the job over the same day to a professional proof-reader, who works locally.

And do you know what? It was the best thing I ever did.

As soon as I handed over the manuscript, I relaxed. I hadn’t even realized how stressed I’d become about the whole process of putting out a quality self-published book.

As soon as I quit, we began to get things done. Within one week, the proof-reader has read the whole thing. She has found “70 inconsistencies” and she’s hopeful of getting the project done by November 20.

011

There is a great sense of relief to have let go of the reigns. I’d been holding on so tightly, I don’t think I was doing a very good job of editing anymore.

This way, I will have the peace of mind, of knowing we caught all the little errors. I will have put out the best book I could and that’s the main thing.

As my friend, author, James Preller, told me recently:

“In the end, the only thing that matters – the only thing – is the book.”

book signing table

However, this road of being an Indie author, as wonderful as it is to have total control, can be an overwhelmingly large amount of work. I guess what I’m saying is, that I learned a lesson the hard way. I pushed myself to burn out before I would admit that I’d taken on too much.

I wanted to pass on this nugget of wisdom I have between my teeth that it’s okay sometimes to quit.

I felt ashamed to admit I stopped editing only three pages into the manuscript. I had fallen down before the finish line.

Yet, it was the best thing for me. I was tired. It felt so good to stop; I may start stopping more often, if you know what I mean!

015

The ultimate test is in the end product. Did I put out the product I intended?

I feel assured now that the end product is going to be a polished book which will be able to stand shoulder-to-shoulder with any book in any library anywhere. Will that end product be worth the shame and embarrassment of quitting at the final hour? Heck-to-the-yeah!

As Altucher said, “You have to give yourself permission to totally humiliate yourself repeatedly. If you can do that, then happiness results.”

Quitting is so hard to do, why is that? But, sometimes it’s the best, and smartest way of stepping forward.

025

Here’s to the next step!

Talk to you, soon,

Yvette K. Carol

+

Failure is the start point for future success.~ Bob Mayer

Comments
  1. While I’m still trying to live that that wisdom, I know that it is okay to ask for help and okay to not tackle everything yourself. Big hugs to you, Yvette!

    Liked by 1 person

    • yvettecarol says:

      Thanks, Tee. It’s something I struggle with, too, because I like to feel I can do everything myself. I pride myself too much on being self-sufficient. Also, being a bit of a control-freak (as we’ve discussed in the past!), I find it a challenge to let go of any part of control of the project. However, I’m here to report the benefits outweigh any pain. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. yvettecarol says:

    Thanks! Yes, I’m very impressed with her, so far. Her business is called ProofPal. If things keep going as well as this, I’ll go straight to her when I finish the next book, and save myself a lot of time and heartache!

    Like

  3. Catherine Johnson says:

    You so did the right thing, Yvette. You’ve read it so much you wouldn’t have seen the wood for the trees.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. davidprosser says:

    Good luck moving forward Yvette.
    xxx Huge Hugs xxx

    Liked by 1 person

  5. emaginette says:

    Now you sound more like an author than you ever did before. So proud of you. 🙂

    Anna from Elements of Writing

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

