Two Tips for Introverts on How to get an Author Headshot

We humans are a visual species. The fact is that we do “judge a book by its cover,” and I myself definitely make assumptions about people depending on their profile picture.

I’m having a new website built, to coincide with the upcoming re-launch of my novel, ‘The Or’in of Tane Mahuta.’ I felt that the time had come to update my profile picture accordingly, as the image I’m currently using is nearly five years old.

Picture 014

As you climb the ladder in any profession, you want to improve the visual imagery that gets associated with your name. Have you ever noticed, that as a person becomes more rich and famous, their imagery on social media becomes more shiny and glamorous? It’s a natural progression in this day-and-age and it’s called “upping your game.”

james_mailchimp_1_1

This week, I went along to see a friend who is a professional photographer, to update my author profile picture. This lady is an incredible, new up-and-coming talent in the photography field. But could she get a good photo of me? No.

I’m fine taking a photo of myself—a “selfie”—I’m an introvert, who could I be more comfortable with doing the shoot than me? Yet, for the professional shoot, I found that as soon as my friend raised the camera, I froze up inside completely.

No matter what I did: the deep breathing, the relaxing, the having a laugh in between, the looking away and looking back, every time I looked into the lens I tensed. I have an all-new respect for professional models!

Picture 021

I should probably explain that I’m an introvert.

I realised it was the first week of the kids going back to school. In the week prior, I’d taken my boys down to visit Grandpa at the beach as well and I hadn’t had any time off for myself in a fortnight.

“Every introvert has a limit when it comes to stimulation.” HuffPost blogger Kate Bartolotta explains it well when she writes, “Think of each of us as having a cup of energy available. For introverts, most social interactions take a little out of that cup instead of filling it the way it does for extroverts. Most of us like it. We’re happy to give, and love to see you. When the cup is empty though, we need some time to refuel.”

018

As soon as I saw the images come back from the shoot, and my first thought was, I look tired, I knew that the fault did not lie with the photographer, but with me. As I grow older and get to know myself more, I discover these things along the way.

I learnt a few things from flubbing this shoot. This lesson is for the other introverts out there (and friends). Here are my two top tips for nailing your author headshot.

1: Realize a professional shoot is a challenging situation for an introvert. Do some serious self-pampering with appropriate amounts of solitude in the weeks prior.

According to the book called, The Introvert Advantage: How to Thrive in an Extrovert World by Marti Laney, Psy.D. says only about 25% of the people in the world are Introverts. Laney states that, “Introverts are people who are over-sensitive to Dopamine, so too much external stimulation overdoses and drains them. So for this reason, introverts need less exposure to people, public situations, noise, social events, to gain all the information they need to be able to retreat again and process it.”

Xmas 2009 047

In order to function, I have come to realize that I need to have quality time alone at intervals to recharge. I hadn’t had a break in the two weeks prior to going for my author headshot. Therefore, I was primed to fail.

I had also made the mistake of running around like a headless chicken right up until the moment I drove to the photographer’s house. Then, I expected myself to be able to relax in front of a camera. I failed, go figure!

003

2: Right before the shoot, do something peaceful and calming. Give yourself adequate time in the hours prior for quiet whether it be walking, or meditating or whatever relaxes you.

In contrast, this morning, the boys have gone to stay with their father for two days, and I have had time alone. I took a selfie to go with this update. Right away, I noticed the difference in my pictures and those taken for my headshot. In my selfies, after just a few hours alone, the energy was coming back. You live and learn! My wonderful photographer friend and I are going to try a re-shoot this week, after I’ve had some R&R. She said, “Cool lessons hey!?”

Cool indeed. You live and learn.

Has anyone else experienced the same thing of freezing up in front of a camera? What’s the story behind getting your headshot?

018

Keep Creating!

Talk to you later,

Yvette K. Carol

+

The Zen roshi said, “Life is like getting into a boat that’s about to sail out to sea and sink.”

Comments
  1. I haven’t had a professional take my photo since my wedding day 26 years ago, so I wouldn’t know if I’d freeze up or not. 😉 Will you go with your own selfies for a head shot, then? I like that last one of you!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. davidprosser says:

    Picture 2 doesn’t do you justice with the glasses and the mop of curly hair ( hee hee) but for sure you look quite relaxed and happy in the last one. It isn’t easy under someone else’s supervision but what worked for me was letting my mind wander and thinking of nice things until it brought a natural smile to my face. The person with the camera didn’t pose me but just pulled shots at different angles of me in this frame of mind.
    You’re a very pretty lady so getting a suitable shot would e easy if you were relaxed.
    xxx Huge Hugs xxx

    Liked by 1 person

  3. emaginette says:

    Bopping, up beat, music helps me relax in front of a camera. 🙂

    Anna from Elements of Writing

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Jenny Hansen says:

    You are so dang photogenic! I love your new photos much better than the old, and the brighter colors suit you. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. […] It’s one of those jobs you put off. I’ve been meaning to do it and putting off for a while. Last week, I shared how I totally flubbed getting a professional author headshot. […]

    Like

  6. Yvette, even though people would definitely classify me as an extrovert, I know I’m not. I totally agree with the idea of having just so much in the cup and needing to refuel. I do it every day! It’s why I love winter and my “hibernation” time, as my husband has noted. But what I really wanted to say is that I think I every picture of you is absolutely beautiful. I think you’re extra critical, but your tips for taking a good head shot are great.

    Liked by 1 person

    • yvettecarol says:

      Thanks, Clare!
      The funny thing is, my oldest friends are convinced I’m extrovert, too. They laugh their heads off every time I talk about being an introvert.
      But, there are variations – even though that may sound precious. I believe I fall under the category of ‘extroverted introvert.’ I kept an article on it somewhere…but at any rate, this category is the type of introvert who can really switch it on when they do make rare public appearances. They can even be the life of the party. But if they don’t get quality time alone afterwards, they crash and burn. Me, to a tee.
      🙂
      As to the author headshot conundrum, I’m still on the fence. I’m taking my time to make the decision slowly. These things can’t be rushed.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

